Claiming to be a vegetarian nowadays can mean a few different things. Are they a full-blown fruitarian or just a flexitarian? We found the main levels of vegetarianism and will describe them for you.
*From most relaxed to most dedicated*
A flexitarian is a person who eats a mostly vegetarian diet but sometimes eats meat. It isn’t laziness – they make the active steps away from a heavy meat diet. They may pick a day or two out of the week to eat meat.
2. Pollo Vegetarian
The pollo vegetarian isn’t a cheater either. This diet choice would consist mostly of a vegetarian diet but chicken (or turkey) might be allowed. These people still consider themselves vegetarians because they don’t eat red meat.
Choosing to be a pescatarian means they enjoy a completely vegetarian diet with the addition of fish. Pescatarians want the benefits of a plant-based diet and the heart-healthy omega-3s of fish. They will eat white fish along with shellfish, such as shrimp and clams.
4. Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian
An ovo-lacto vegetarian also referred to as an eggetarian, is someone who allows both eggs (ovo) and dairy products (lacto) to be a part of their diet. They don’t eat red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. This is the most common type of vegetarian.
Vegans do not consume any animal product or by-products and are considered to be the truest vegetarians. Vegans do not use honey, beeswax, gelatin, or any other animal by-product ingredients.
6. Raw Vegan
A raw vegan and a regular vegan are similar, except a raw vegan won’t heat any of their foods over 115 degrees. Their diet consists of raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, grain and legume sprouts, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, mushrooms, seeds, and fresh juices.
Fruitarians avoid anything based on killing or harming animals and plants. Vegans eat a much broader range of foods than fruitarians. Fruitarians eat only fruits, nuts, and seeds. They even kick out grains and vegetables.